Hilsen fra Danmark!

Hello from Denmark!! I’ll be blogging this semester for you all…I’ve never done this before and am not very “tech-savvy” so bear with me!

If you’re reading this, you probably know that I’m currently studying abroad in Copenhagen, Denmark (and if you didn’t, now you know!).  I left from Newark Airport Saturday afternoon, and, after saying a difficult goodbye to my parents, left for Brussels, Belgium, then, after a four hour layover, headed to Copenhagen! I’m not going to lie, the flight was pretty rough…my friend Alex and I had the pleasure of sitting behind two screaming babies on the flight over, which meant we got little sleep! When we got to Brussels, we were relieved to finally be off the plane, and, after going through customs, went off in search of some Belgian waffles.  Unfortunately, we didn’t find any, but we did find some other kids from our school who we sat with in a cute little cafe in the airport.  The time flew by, and soon we were boarding our flight from Brussels to Copenhagen…hooray!!

It was snowing when we landed, which made everything so pretty. We quickly got our bags and headed out, where a group of people from our school, DIS, met us and gave us directions to the bus which would take us to our rooms.  Little did we know we would have to wait an hour and a half for the bus that was going to our building!!  But finally, the bus came, and we were out of the airport and into Copenhagen!

After driving through the city, we finally got to Nørrebro, the neighborhood where I’m living.  We brought our bags inside (what I’m sure was an interesting sight for the locals, considering we all had 4 bags!) and received the keys to our rooms from Jens, our Danish SRA.  We brought our bags up to our rooms, then quickly unpacked before dinner.  Jens made some Danish food for our whole building, such as some Danish meatballs, a variety of salads, and some delicious biscuits.  After dinner, I finished unpacking, called home, hung some pictures on the wall, and went to bed!

The various neighborhoods of Copenhagen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hilsen fra Danmark!

  1. Stephanie Sweeney says:

    Well you are there and that’s great!! Enjoy yourself – Love, Mommy x x x

  2. Paul says:

    Jill, I’m so glad your mom shared your blog with me. Soak it all in. I’m so jealous! Have the best of time.

Leave a comment